Bladder stones in sugar gliders: update

In a previous post I discussed the bladder stones three of my sugar gliders have suffered and said that the stones were calcium oxalate, which they certainly appeared to be based on the color, shape, etc. However, the vet had them analyzed in a lab and has just told me that they were actually calcium phosphate, meaning that they weren’t caused by spinach or any other high-oxalate food. The most likely culprit is now the calcium phosphate powder which we had been giving our mealworms as a dietary supplement (recommended by a different vet). Since mealworms are already quite high in phosphorus, this was probably a very bad idea. The vet also says that the problem may not be dietary at all, that the gliders may just not have been drinking enough water — but I doubt that, since one of the gliders who had a stone really drinks a lot of water.

5 Comments

Filed under Sugar Gliders

5 responses to “Bladder stones in sugar gliders: update

  1. Poor babies! What is the full outcome for them now?

    I have 13, and I have recently been dealing with abscesses. I have had quite a few in poor shape gliders in my day, never had a stone!

  2. So far, so good. The gliders have fully recovered, and there have been no other stones.

  3. Wow I had a sugar glider that must of had a stone … She peed blood for two days then became sluggish & passed away the next morning … I didn’t even have the time to try to save her it all happened so quickly … I tried to give her food & water the night before but it was to late … I did give her antibiotic as well but she passed anyway : (

  4. Vivian

    Hi! I have a question. What diet do you have your gliders on? I’m currently living in Taiwan as well and I’m struggling to find the necessary supplements. What calcium supplement do you use?

    • Hi, Vivian. As mentioned in the post, we had been using a calcium phosphate supplement recommended by a vet, but it appears to have led directly to the bladder stones, so we stopped using it. They now get their calcium primarily through mealworms, sunflower seeds, and yogurt.

Leave a Reply

